July 30, 2009

I had my second appointment with the bone marrow doctors at Duke.  We discussed my treatment options and risks.  I opted to have the Allogeneic bone marrow transplant.  The Allo is a transplant where I receive bone marrow from a donor.  I chose the Allo for one big reason.  It will, if successful, eliminate my CVID, virtually eliminate the risk of relapse,  and allow me to live a completely healthy and normal life.  The Allo is the more risky of my treatment options, but it also has the biggest pay off.  To me, the risk is worth the reward.  There are several matches from the Bone Marrow Registry.  I am waiting to find out who will actually donate the marrow.  The doctors at Duke are in contact with the potential matches.  So now, it’s just a waiting game to find out who is willing to donate.  I am excited to get started with the transplant.

Other than the news from Duke, nothing new to report.  I still don’t have a date for the start of the transplant.  I felt tired most of the day today.  I am at the low point in my chemo cycle.  I should feel better and stronger as the weekend progress.  One last thing, please go to bethematch.org and register to be a bone marrow donor.

One thought on “July 30, 2009

  1. Hi Carey,

    I will be praying for you every night until you beat this thing! Keep updating your blog, so I know how you and Fipp are doing. Keep your head up and know that all things are possible with God.

    -Jess

Leave a Reply

