August 6, 2009

Sorry for no post yesterday.  Your humble narrator (borrowed from Anthony Burgess) didn’t feel like writing.  GI Joe comes out tomorrow.  I am excited to see it.  It should be good.  I don’t understand the folks who say “Too bad it looks like it’s gonna suck.”  What planet are you on?  Both Transformers had the potential to blow too.  But most of us took the risk and saw it anyway.  Sure Transformers wasn’t, and GI Joe probably won’t be, a cinematic masterpiece, but it’s summer.  Who cares.

Today was relatively uneventful.  I worked and after that went for a walk.  I am feeling stronger each day, but I know this is an illusion since I have another chemo next week and will feel weak after that.  I also watched “Children of Huang-Shui.”  It is about the British journalist and adventurer Geroge Hogg who took over a school for orphans in China in the late 1930s.  He then led them on an often treacherous and difficult 700 mile march to the edge of the Gobi Desert all in the name of saving them from the Japanese, and alternatively, Nationalist forces.  It was a very moving story, extremely well told, compelling, and well acted.  It stars Johnathan Rhys Meyers and Chow Yun-Fat.

Don’t expect any posts this weekend.  GI Joe comes out.  And my cousin Nate arrives tomorrow.  Should be legendary.

Leave a comment