August 10, 2009

The weekend was awesome. Nate stopped by on his way to New Yprk where he is starting Grad School.  Nate and I had a great time hanging out. On Friday we worked on destroying the environment by taking his H3 to dinner. Then we clubbed some baby seals just for sport. We also went to Cheese Mo’z, a pizza place owned by Dan Morgan, one of the players for the Panthers.  We then spent the rest of the evening catching up.

On saturday we went rafting at the National Whitewater Center.  We got up super early thinking we were going to be slick and beat the crowd.  So we got there and it was about 730 am and no one was there.  We couldn’t even buy tickets for the rafting.  So we left, got breakfast and came bak.  We were able to get tickets then, but the first raft trip was at noon.  So we left again and then came back for our noon raft trip.  In between the second and thrid trip, I showed Nate a little bit of Charlotte.  Rafting was alot of fun.  We were on the river for about an hour and did each course (small and competition) twice.  I got pulled out by one of the girls in our raft because she ws a spaz.  She left the raft about half way through the trip and no one else fell out.  Funny thing about that.  Fipp then met us at the center when we were done rafting and we took a walk aorund.  After going home, we showered and saw GI Joe.  Not as good as Transformers, but it was still fun.  I did not have high expectations, but it was just like the cartoon I remember from growing up.  Cheesy dialogue, fantastical sets, bizzare high tech gear, and bad code names.  On satuday night we went to my favorite place to eat, East Blvd. Grill.  (They’re too original to have a website.)  We then hung out and went to bed around 11.  I was beat.

Nate left early sunday after a breakfast at The Flying Biscuit.  I was sad to see him go.  For those who don’t know, Nate is my cousin and like the older brother I never had and we were very close growing up.  I had a great time seeing him all the same and I hope to get up to New York when I’m recovering to see him.

Today was uneventful.  I am going to the dentist tomorrow (joy).  Then Wednesday I go for a regular IVIG treatment, Thursday is Chemo 4 and Friday I’ll be fishing and terrorizing Lake Anna with the jet ski.  So long story short busy week.  I’ll post a picture of Nate and I later on in the week.  Don’t forget to vote on the new name for my bart (that’s German for lots of awsome facial hair).  I’m leaning towards Wellington.

2 thoughts on “August 10, 2009

  1. Great news, we all are rooting for your side. Spoke with Alex today and she filled me in on the news. I hope you will come here after your refueling and veg in the sun and some good food.
    Read a new book, “Masters and Commanders”
    by Andrew Roberts. FDR, Churchill, Marshall and Brooke. 1941-1945, a new look about the four men who won the war. Read also, George Marshalls biog. Perhaps the greatest general in US history, a man who refused to write his own bio. Integrity, courage,brilliance. A man to emulate. Picked Eisenhower, had been right hand to Pershing, had the numbers on MacArthur and FDR. Super read.
    Remember, if you’re going for the “great white whale”, bring along the tartar sauce.
    Barbara sends her love, go man. Ed

Leave a Reply

