August 24, 2009

Holy shit.  Writing 2 days in a row.

I went to the Dr.’s today for my regular 10 day blood test.  My counts were fine, but I was concerned about a massive nosebleed I had last night.  It lasted about 20 mins.  So I spoke with the Dr. about it today and he said my platelet count was fine.  He said that it probably is not related to my chemo or the cancer.  It could just be a fluke thing, dry air, dry or irritated nose, something like that.  I also mentioned a persistent tingling in my fingers when I’m rubbing my hands together.  It used to me just a couple of days after my chemo, but now it’s lasting a while.  He said to monitor it and if it gets worse or I begin to lose dexterity we could cut back on my chemo dose.  I would prefer not to do that, but I also want to mitigate the long term effects of getting pumped with left over mustard gas and the like.  So after that was all over I came home.  I had already worked all day.  I made dinner, watched the news, then watched Romeo and Juliet (the 1996 one).  It wasn’t all that good.  The individual performances were pretty good, but the overall style distracted from the story, and it was heavily abridged.  That and I think the director was coked out of his mind or on ecstasy or both for most of the filming, because parts of it were more reminiscent of Fear and Loathing in Las Vegas than Shakespeare.  Paul Rudd played a good aloof comic character.  Pirouettes.  Pepperidge Farm.  Aside from that, work was uneventful.

One thought on “August 24, 2009

  1. Hey Carey!

    Have you read, The Life of Pi, by Yann Martel? It’s a great “survival by using one’s wits” story…. A real page-turner!
    Love, Aunt Daphne
    P.S. Finally- Pi that has nothing to do with Math!

Leave a Reply

