September 14, 2009

This is the last full week of work for me.  I’m excited to be starting my transplant so soon, but also a bit nervous.  It is going to be harder than anything I’ve done before.  I’ve begun to pack my things and get ready for the move to Duke.  I move to Duke on Sept. 24 and begin pre-transplant testing the same day.  Starting Sept. 25 I will under go a very intents (like camping….get it?) cocktail of über-chemo and some other drugs to kill my immune system in preparation for the bone marrow transplant.  I’m sure that the über-chemo is derived from nuclear waste, as is the other stuff.  Well, here’s to good health!

I am off work tomorrow.  I have to go to the doctor here in Charlotte one last time.  Unfortunately, I can’t say that this will be a fun “last” visit where everyone says bye and you feel really good about your self.  I have to have a bone marrow biopsy.  It will be my second one in 3 months and fourth overall.  I hate these things.  So needless to say, I am not feeling my best.  I can do just about anything and deal with anything.  But getting the bone marrow biopsy is the one thing that I truly dread.  I would rather give my self an injection than get one (If you know me, you know that giving my self an injection is something I’ll balk at).  I’ve spent the night watching 24 and trying to get my mind off tomorrow, but it isn’t working.   Oh well, at least they’re giving me a shot of Ativan to loosen me up.  And the Red Sox swept the Rays over the weekend and Pats pulled out a squeeker against Buffalo tonight, that helps some.

Patrick Swayze also died today.  He had Pancreatic Cancer, in case you were living in a cave for the last few years.  I’ll be brutally honest, I wasn’t particularly fond of him as an actor, but it’s sad when someone dies of cancer.  Lance Armstrong wrote of the brotherhood of cancer survivors in his book It’s Not About The Bike, and I’ve found it to be true.  I feel like I have a close connection with the people I meet and read about who have cancer in any form.  It’s a bond that we all share and we all feel the loss when our second family gets a bit smaller.

I’ll post tomorrow too and let everyone know how I’m doing.

6 thoughts on “September 14, 2009

  1. Good luck with everything man. Lets talk in the next few days if you want to talk politics and discuss tongue-in-cheek news stories! Best.

  2. Carey, Your dad started preparing you for that uber-chemo stuff when you were still a baby in a high chair and he fed you that hot mustard at the Chinese restaurant! Battle Stations, everyone!
    Love, Aunt Daphne

  3. Here is some Western transcendence:
    [IMG]http://i93.photobucket.com/albums/l45/rocketjg/DSCF0042-1.jpg[/IMG]

    [IMG]http://i93.photobucket.com/albums/l45/rocketjg/DSCF0044-2.jpg[/IMG]

    KLA

    Love ,
    Joshua

Leave a Reply

