September 20, 2009

I’m bored out of my skull.  My parents came down on Friday to pack up my things. On Saturday we packed everything up, then, unbeknownst to me, they left.  I had thought they were going to stay until sunday.  If I had known that they were going to leave I would’ve planned something for saturday afternoon and sunday.  Well, that and Fipp is still under the weather from a cold this weekend, so that hasn’t helped.  So, my parents packed up my stuff and left.  I packed up what they couldn’t take with them and now it’s all sitting in my car.  I feel a little homeless at the moment.

I went to breakfast with J and his girlfriend Erin yesterday.  It was good to see them.  We went to a breakfast place I haven’t been to called Eddie’s Place in Cotswold.  It had an excellent breakfast.  I was amazed I hadn’t heard of it, but neither had J until someone at his work told him to check it out.  I think I have a new favorite place for breakfast.  J has been a good friend for many years.  I then went out and did some book shopping with a gift card they gave me.  I picked up Where Men Win Glory by Jon Krakauer, about the life and death of Pat Tillman.  Pat Tillman played for the Arizona Cardinals then enlisted in the US Army after Sept. 11.  He was killed in a friendly fire incident in Afghanistan in 2004 and his death was the subject of a cover up by the US Army.  I also picked up Ghost Wars by Steve Coll about the CIA’s operations in Afghanistan from the Soviet invasion in 1979 through the beginning of Operation Enduring Freedom in 2001.

After getting home I watched Texas beat Texas Tech in an exciting grudge match.  Last year, Texas Tech beat Texas, which was ranked #1 and was also undefeated up to that point.  So Texas was looking for revenge last night and they found it in a fantastic game.  A disclaimer: I have no connections to Texas, either the state or the school, but I love watching them play football, so I was very happy they won.  The Red Sox also beat the Orioles last night.  Navy lost to Pittsburgh.  As Meat Loaf said, ” 2 out of 3 ain’t bad.”  The Pats are currently losing to the Jets.  Well, it’s only week 2.  Well, thanks for stopping by.  Look for another update later this week.  I am moving to Durham on Wednesday and begin my transplant on Thursday.  It’s going to be busy this week.

If you want to stop by or send me something (no fruits, vegetables, plants, flowers, animals, small children, or sex slaves please) my address is:

4225 Larchmont Rd. #1008

Durham, NC 27707

One thought on “September 20, 2009

  1. Carey, I wonder about all those deeeep seeeerious books you are going to read ! How about something light-hearted like looking at “The last King of Scotland” ? (:( } Oh golly, I saw it last night on my Netflix, and can say it was a very irritating movie. I wanted to grab the doctor by the throat and tell him to face facts and not be so naive.!! Did you see it when it came out ? And what did you think of the actual film?
    I know these coming few days and weeks will try you, but you are well-prepared, for your whole life has been one of stepping up, doing what is right, and doing it well.
    If I can send anything that is ALLOWED , let me know! I am going to do the extra netflix for you, so you can wallow in whatever trivia you want. Love and strong healing thoughts to you, dear boy, Mummo

Leave a Reply

