September 25, 2009

I am settled in my apartment now.  The apartment is nice and pretty new.  It is big, 2 bedrooms and 2 bathrooms.  Yesterday was my final day of testing before beginning the transplant process.  The tests went well.  I had a CT Scan, EKG, chest x-ray, and 100 CCs of blood drawn (that’s alot of blood).  They went well and no infections were detected.

Today I had my port removed and a Hickman Catheter put in.  I was awake for the whole thing.  They numbed me up real well and gave me a bunch of sedatives.  WHEEEEE.  It was neat getting to watch the surgery on the x-ray machine.  Now, instead of having a lump under my chest, I have 2 long hoses hanging out of a hole in my chest.  I am pretty sore now.   I spent most of the afternoon dozing.  I also did some reading, but didn’t get very far.  I was really out of it from all the meds I was given with the surgery.  I got the oil changed in my car and picked up some prescriptions as well.

Thanks to the SigEp Sweethearts for the flowers.

Tomorrow I begin the treatment to kill off my immune system.  Flip and Dad will be here for that.  Fun fun fun.  I’ll update tomorrow or Sunday and let y’all know how it went.  I’m off to Maggiano’s for dinner.  Check back soon.

3 thoughts on “September 25, 2009

Leave a Reply

