September 27, 2009

Yesterday was my first day of über-chemo.  Man it was terrible.  First, late friday night, I stared bleeding from my catheter site, so I had to spend an hour getting that to stop and then sleep all night sitting up.  I didn’t sleep very well, so that sucked.  I was very tired and sore when I got to the clinic on saturday morning.  I got all hooked up and almost immediately began to get uncomfortable and to toss and turn.  I was also really bored.  I brought my Zune, but when I turned it on the battery was dead.  I tried to read, but was so tired that I only got a page or so into it.  So all my entertainment was gone.  I then took a nap.  I slept fitfully all day.  After about an hour or two I began to feel the chemo.  I felt feverish, cold, hot, then nauseous, had a thundering headache, and violent shaking and chills.  So for each symptom I was given different medicine to treat it.  I was so hopped up on meds that I lost track of time.  When I got home I thought it was 4 or 5, but it was more like 3.  I couldn’t really eat, nad was super thirsty, but couldn’t drink because I would start to feel like puking.  I slept all evening and night.  It was a fitful unrestful sleep.  Imagine the worst hangover you’ve ever had, multiply it by 10, then put a fever on top of it.  That’s how I felt yesterday.  And I didn’t get to have the pleasure of reliving a drunken night with my friends….damn it.

So today I went back for round 2.  It went alot better, except for the chemo hangover.  I spent the entire day recovering.  I felt well enough to eat dinner and a steak sandwich.  I now feel much better.  I also went for a short walk, watched the Red Sox lose to the Yankees, and caught up on 24.  I haven’t been able to take a shower for the last 2 days because of the catheter so I am going to give my self a sponge bath.  I promise I’ll put up some pictures tomorrow.

8 thoughts on “September 27, 2009

  1. You Did amazing handling everything and I am so proud of you! You are Incredible and I will see you again soon, yay 🙂

  2. Just wanted to let you know I was thinking about you and wishing you well. I’m amazed at your stamina through all this. Keep it up!

  3. no shower? i know i am supposed to not give you too much of headache…but that is just not our relationship. just think of the woman in the mirror. that lady keeps dressing like her and following her around. oh..and april had a guy tell her that he went to a psychic to find out who stole his wallet out of his car. she swears that this is a true story. you can’t make this stuff up! i miss you at the office, but if anybody asks..i’ll deny it!

Leave a Reply

