October 3, 2009

Watching Georgia and LSU.  It is a defensive battle and Georgia is marching down the field and looking to score at the beginning of the 4th quarter.

The last couple of days I’ve been struggling with nausea and vomiting.  It seems to happen only when I move or ride in a car.  The doctors say this is normal and will clear up in the next few days.  In the meantime I am taking alot of different meds to try and fight it.  I haven’t been able to eat as much as I would like, but that is changing as well.  I can’t wait til the nausea goes away totally so I can eat normally again.

Yesterday I only needed a bag of fluid and then was released.  Today I just needed some fluid and potassium then was released.  I continue to do well all things considered.  My counts are trending down as expected.  I’m sure I’ve mentioned this in other posts.  The idea behind the über-chemo is to kill off all of my old immune system and bone marrow.  As a result, for about a week or so after the end of the chemo my counts will drop to all 0.  So 0 white blood cells, 0 platelets, 0 red blood cells, 0 everything.  Then around mid-month my counts will begin to recover.  This will be the first indicator that the new marrow is taking over.  In the meantime I will get blood transfusions and platelet transfusions.

A quick word of thanks to everyone in Caroline’s med classes who signed up to be a marrow donor.  I am asking everyone to sign up to become a donor.  You can do this by clicking on the National Marrow Donor Program link at the right.  Also feel free to send this blog to anyone who you think might be interested in reading it.

One thought on “October 3, 2009

  1. Dear Carey, golly you have really been through it. I would use stronger language but I am required to keep the grandma image intact. Now I must say, all this napping stuff is really a great way to get through a boring day. Rowdy does it all the time. He gets so tired napping, that at 8 PM he whines to go to bed and get some sleep. go figure.
    Another candle lit in church this morning for your smooth (er) recovery and well-being. Last week it was a river stone in the fountain. All for you, dear boy. Much love, Mummo

Leave a Reply

