November 5, 2009

Well I have some sort of infection.  The doctors think it is fungal.  I ran a temp between 101 and 103 Saturday, Sunday, and Monday.  On Sunday I was admitted to the hospital and have been there ever since.  I have undergone just about every test known to medicine.  I had a CT Scan, MRI, a bunch of different scopy tests to look in my lungs, stomach, and everywhere else.  Lots of blood tests and swabs.  It has been an exhausting week.  I spent the first part of the week throwing up every few hours and did not eat much.  On top of that the incessant fever made it impossible to even read.  Finally on Tuesday, my temp hit 105.  I was given some steroids and that broke my fever.  I haven’t had a fever since, but I still feel really crappy.  I can’t really sleep so I am tired all the time.  This is probably the sickest I’ve ever been.  I have good nurses in the hospital though so that counts for alot.  I will most likely be in the hospital for the rest of the week and into the weekend.  I have a TV with a DVD player in my room, but the DVD player is broken so no 24, no How I Met Your Mother, no movies, and day time TV is terrible.  I am still in no shape to do much reading or begin learning guitar.  The good news is that the doctors say I am recovering and responding to the medicines I am on.  I will try to update soon, but can’t make any promises since I am still very week and even simple tasks like getting up are a chore.

10 thoughts on “November 5, 2009

  1. So glad hear your written voice again! Why are those hospital tv/dvd players always broken? A mystery to be solved….maybe you could write the great American (cancer) novel instead. Hang in there and KLA,
    AuntAshley

  2. I just wanted you to know I’m still thinking about you and praying for you daily. I hope you are feeling better really soon. I miss my daily blog update!!!

  3. Hey Buddy, I hope you’re feeling better. Just to echo what all your friends, family and other loved ones have been saying, you’re in my thoughts everyday, and I’m wishing you the very best as you continue to make your way through this very difficult time. I’m also lobbying politicians to make sure that new DVD players make their way into the health care reform bill. Wishing you the best, Geoff

Leave a Reply

