November 23, 2009

The weekend was pretty good.  I did well on Saturday but on Sunday I felt really run down.  I hadn’t felt that tired and worn out in a long time.  I took a long nap and that didn’t help.  I felt even more run down today and when I mentioned it to the doctor he said my hemoglobin, the measure of blood volume, was low and recommended I get a unit of blood.  So  for the first time in over a month I’m getting a unit of blood.  I hope it peps me up.  I slept all morning here at the clinic.  in addition to the blood I am getting my usual medicine and fluid, so today is a long day at the clinic.  This should be the last week for my Foscarnate, the medicine I get for CMV.  I am excited to be off that.  My weight continues to fluctuate.  I am eating and drinking, but I don’t seem to be gaining any weight.  The doctors are concerned that I might not be absorbing the food I’m eating.  That is a bit concerning, but I think that I’m doing fine and just need to ease back into eating like I’ve been doing.

Brandon posted an interesting piece by Thomas Jefferson on his blog the other day and it reminded me how ahead of his time and influential Jefferson was during the founding of this country.  Some think of him as a scribe and an intellectual lightweight especially when compared with John Adams.  I disagree.  I’ve posted a link to the electronic Jefferson Archive from UVA.  Take some time to read some of the pieces in it.  Especially the Statutes of Religious Freedom, the template for both the Declaration of Independence and the Bill of Rights, and the Notes on the State of Virginia.  http://etext.virginia.edu/jefferson/

2 thoughts on “November 23, 2009

  1. Just a note to let you know we’re still thinking about you here at CMPD. Keep fighting…you’re doing great! I hope that you and Fipp, and the rest of your families have a great Thanksgiving holiday. You all certainly have a ton to be thankful for this year!!!

  2. Carey, here I am logging in on the Thomas Jefferson discussion. He was always my and Tom’s sort-of-hero, and when my church decided there should be a vote to change our area title , I got a little upset. It was the Thomas Jefferson area, and the feeling was that it should be changed to: Toward Justice. As i talked to a group of pretty knowledgable leaders, I came to realize TJ was wonderful about what he put in the Constitution but a total hypocrit in his own life. Think about it. the TJ people in VA are very sensitive to even the slightest criticisn of him, and the way to the truth is a muddy path. What do you think? I love these kinds of discussions…love, Mummo

Leave a Reply

