December 14, 2009

I am officially being sent home to Virginia today.  I will continue my recovery there.  I have a doctor who will follow my case and still come to Duke for further follow-up.  I have packed my stuff and will leave tomorrow morning.  My counts were down a little today, but the overall trend continues to be on the up.  It’s sort of like taking 3 steps forward and one step back.  Eventually you’ll get there, it just takes a while.

It’s been a long time since I came to Duke.  I am excited and happy that I am leaving.  I am also thankful that I was able to overcome my lung infection and have a successful transplant.  I have made lots of progress since the days when I was laid up in the hospital or so addled from the chemo that I could only watch TV.  I would like to express my thanks to everyone who has supported me through my transplant.  Your prayers and support messages have been a source of strength for me.  Your continued support is appreciated and needed as I continue my recovery in Virginia.  I hope to be able to catch up with some of y’all while I am there.  Please feel free to contact me at chickensoupforthecanceroussoul@gmail.com or if you have my phone number, just call.  Look for an update Wednesday or Thursday.  The first couple of days back look like they might be a bit busy.

4 thoughts on “December 14, 2009

Leave a Reply

