January 5, 2010

I began my beginner cycling program for couch potatoes on Monday.  It was a little harder than I anticipated, but a good workout.  The first 5 or 6 sets of peddling were not too bad, but the last few felt more and more challenging.  I also registered for a sprint triathlon.  It takes place in late August in Charlotte.  In triathlons there are 4 types: sprint, Olympic, Half-Ironman, and Ironman.  A sprint is a 700 yard swim (about 1/2 mile), a 14-16 mile bike, and a 3 mile run in a morning.  On the flip side, an Ironman triathlon is a 2 mile swim, 112 mile bike, and full marathon in a single day.  My goal at the moment is to complete the sprint tri I am registered for, then I might consider doing another tri.

Today I got breakfast with my friend Brian.  Then I went to the gym, wrote some long overdue thank you notes, played Tom’s PS3, and now I’m watching Iowa and Georgia Tech.  I am off to Durham for a check up with the Bone Marrow Transplant team tomorrow.  I will be back Thursday and let y’all know how it went.

2 thoughts on “January 5, 2010

  1. I came across your blog through my Facebook friend (and cousin) Steve Fippinger, and enjoyed it immensely. I’ve been trying to work up the commitment to do a sprint, but I have a lot of training to do to get there. I’m going to follow your progress and wish you all the best.

  2. Happy New Year.Looking forward to your visit in March. I will heat the pool,also the pool at the club is great for laps, the beach when tide is out offers packed sand ideal for a run. also, our gym here and
    the super gym is even better 1/4 mile away where I train 2x week. If you like rugby see Invictus.
    We saw Alex in NYC last week, a treat. E&B

Leave a Reply

