February 1, 2010

This weekend Geoff came down to visit.  It was an adventure getting to Baltimore, but we had alot of fun once I got there.  He is in med school in Baltimore, which is about an hour and a half from me.  I drove up Saturday morning to pick him up.  It was snowing and the roads were pretty good in VA.  People were not driving well though.  I saw many accidents caused by people going too fast for the conditions.  Once I crossed into MD the roads were pretty bad.  I made good time getting to Baltimore all things considered though.  It took about 2 hours to get there.  Geoff and I hung out for a bit at his place then we hit the road and getting back to my house took forever.  It was almost 3 1/2 hours before we finally made it home.  Once at my place, we watched The Hurt Locker, a movie about EOD techs in Iraq.  I saw it over the summer and thought it was excellent and it was just as good the second time around.  Then Sunday we ate breakfast and went to DC to see the Terra Cotta Warriors, which are on exhibit at the National Geographic Society.  We couldn’t get tickets for that day online but the website said that they were available in person.  When we got there, all the tickets for the day were gone, so we decided just to drive back to Baltimore.  Once we got back to Baltimore, we got crab cakes in Fells Point and walked around there.  Then I dropped Geoff back at his place and I went home.  It was a good visit and I had alot of fun.  We are going to try to meet up again soon since it’s a fairly easy drive to Baltimore or DC.

Today I felt alot better than I have in a while, so I went to the gym and biked.  I haven’t biked since I first began to feel unwell back in early Jan.  It was good to be back on the bike and feeling like I’m making some progress towards recovery.  I picked up where I left off in Jan. since it was early in the program and I haven’t lost much of what I had built, mainly because I hadn’t built that much strength and endurance yet.  So I’m now about 2 weeks behind in my training, but it shouldn’t have that big an impact on my race since there are still 7 months to train.  I also got a hair cut today.  Nothing extreme, it was more just a trim to clean up the edges of my hair and get control over some of the parts on the back and side that had begun to develop into cow licks.  I am going to Charlotte at the end of the week to look at apartments and visit friends and Fipp.  I will try to update while I am down there, but can’t make any promises.

Leave a Reply

