February 27, 2010

Well, I am still in the hospital.  They’ve given me some meds to help control my anal leakage.  My tests for campylobacter and other infections were negative so the antibiotics are doing their job.  I am feeling much better.  My weight is stable and the doctors say that as long as I stay stable for a couple of more days I can go home.  I really miss getting to eat whatever I want though.  I’ve been having dreams about eating BBQ every night.  Man I miss that wonderful food.  I still get tired easily and nap for a couple of hours every day.  I am glad that things appear to be turning around.  I’ve been in the hospital for 3 weeks now and I feel like I’m never getting out, so improvement is a welcome sign.

Fipp is back this weekend.  It s alot of fun having her here.  Tom and some of his friends from Annapolis also came to visit.  We spent most of the afternoon talking.  It is really nice to see other young folks and be able to make inappropriate jokes.  Shannon also stopped by briefly, so it was a busy day.  Now I am just watching Kansas and OK State.  I wouldn’t normally care, but OK State is winning by 17 with 10 minutes to go in the 2nd half.  Kansas is ranked #1 and it would be awesome to see an upset.  I really look forward to getting to eat BBQ again.  It’s really occupied alot of my thinking the last few weeks.  I think I am officially addicted to BBQ since I ate it once a week before I got sick and now I’ve only had it a hand full of times since.  But, I’ve been craving it since the summer.  Man, it’s going to be awesome to eat it again.  I can’t wait to go to Greg’s, Mac’s, Bill Spoon’s, Dixie Bones, Ole Smoke House, BBQ King, Bubba’s, every place.  If you know of any good BBQ, it doesn’t matter how far it is, let me know because I want to check it out.

3 thoughts on “February 27, 2010

  1. Good to hear you are feeling better and hope your dreams of BBQ sooon come true. We finally stopped at a Five Guys and the hamburgers were great – thanks for the tip!

  2. That’s quite a list of barbecue places! I’ll try to hunt some down as well! There’s a spectacular place near my home in Florida that uses the best mustard-based sauce I’ve ever encountered. I’ll either send you the sauce, or we’ll have to make a trip down to Florida one of these days! My family will drive about 1.5 hours both ways for that barbecue, but it’s totally worth it…I’m sure you understand!

    Sorry to hear about this latest episode, Carey! Stay strong and hope to see you soon! All the best,

  3. Super news. I spoke with Alex yesterday and pleased to hear your progress. Trust you will make the visit SAP. Meanwhile the weather has been the coolest we have had in the 10 years we have lived here. I promise it better when you arrive. Where is the best barbecue? Do they ship?
    Regards, E&B

Leave a Reply

