March 13, 2010

Well, I finally made it out of the hospital.  I was released on Wednesday.  I spent Thursday hanging out at home and Friday at the doctor’s.  This morning I was back on the phone with the doc thanks to a slight fever.  Nothing major and they had me take some Tylenol and I’ll be seeing them tomorrow.  I feel much better now.  I just wonder when this will clear up.  I get to spend most of next week at various doctors getting the low down.  The big consolation is that I’ll have a tentative return to work date and will be able to return to my old job in the same division.  So that is a huge weight off my shoulders.  I want to thank the Captain for her assistance in helping me figure out what exactly I needed to do.  Her help was invaluable and of great comfort.  Once that’s done it’s a matter of figuring out my next step.  But I’m getting ahead of my self.

I feel exhausted and weaker than I anticipated, but being home has really helped my spirits.  I didn’t think it was possible, but the amount of walking I have to do now that I’m home makes me think they surgically removed my hamstrings in the hospital.  I really notice how weak I am when I have to stand up or walk up and down stairs.  I’ve lost about 30 lbs and would like it back, but my body has a different Idea and doesn’t seem to want to add any weight at the moment.  I can’t eat the fatty foods I love, so I’m trying the best I can with plain foods and high carbs, which isn’t so bad.  But chocolate chip ice cream, a big rack of ribs, and onion rings would kick ass right now.  Stupid guts and their “sensitivity.”  I had a burger tonight and it’s sitting pretty well so far.  Well it’s off to bed and the hope that I don’t wake up feeling like I did this morning.
Leave a Reply

