April 1, 2010

I shit y’all not.  I was released from the hospital at 1:30 Tuesday and was back in at 12:30 Wednesday night.  I was running a fever, had intense pain in my abdomen and was vomiting.  I was taken immediately for a CT scan and started on all my meds via IV.  The CT scan showed my gut is significantly more inflamed than it was last week.  The docs have me back on TPN 24 hours a day.  Before I was getting TPN only 14 hours a day.  They also said nothing to eat or drink.  The idea is to rest my gut really well, but whenever that happens I begin craving weird foods.  Right now it’s gummy bears and gummy worms.  I spent all day yesterday sleeping and fighting a recurring fever.  I watched a little TV, but most of the day was spent asleep due to the medicines and being up nearly all night Tuesday night.

Today I am feeling a little better, but still very tired and weak.  It’s a bit discouraging going in and out of the hospital all the time.  The docs say that GVHD is unique to the individual, but remain confident that it will resolve.  They also said that it is by far not the worst case of GVHD they’ve ever seen.  It’s just a matter of time and being patient before this resolves.  When it comes to medical stuff, I’ve never been very patient.  I am used to resolving medical issues relatively quickly and being able to overcome them through force of will and some quick doses of medicines.  I don’t have that luxury with GVHD.  This is a good time to practice being patient.

I am going to be in the hospital for a while and in Durham for a while after that.  If you want to come visit, shoot me an email and come on by.

4 thoughts on “April 1, 2010

  1. You sell yourself short, my friend. You are one of the most patient people I know! We hope you feel seriously better soon! Love you, Daphne, Dave, Ethan

  2. I’m stockpiling gummis for you as I write this. They’ll be waiting for you when your GI symptoms resolve. Take care bud! I hope to make it up that way in the next 3-4 weeks.

  3. I read Geoff stockpiling gummis as ” guiness” and had to read it twice! The nice thing about this return to the hospital from your post? They know what it is and know how to help you get better!! love you, Ashley, Ruth, Ez

  4. Hey! Just be sure to watch the Red Sox spank the… (suddenly faint w/nausea) Yankees.., on Sunday.

    Love
    Uncle Joshua

Leave a Reply

