April 21, 2010

I was released from the hospital officially on Monday.  My PET Scan results also came back.  There was nothing new or unexpected found anywhere.  That is great news because it means no relapse of cancer, no infections seen anywhere else, nothing.  It is also bad news since the doctors still don’t know what is causing the fevers.  There several completing and equal plausible theories as to what all this is.  It could be just GVHD, GVHD and an infection that is trying to make a comeback, combo GVHD and all the meds, or just the meds that are causing the fever and some of the GI symptoms.  Whatever it is, it seems to be backing off for the time being.  Hopefully this trend will continue.

I got to see my apartment yesterday and it is very nice.  I like the layout and it is super clean.  I don’t have alot of furniture, but there’s enough for me to be comfortable.  It’s nice to be able to sleep in my own bed and use my own things and not have an IV pump to wheel around all the time.  I still have an IV pump and meds that are being infused 24 hours a day, but it’s a small pump in a carry bag, so it’s much easier to get around.  I also shaved off Sherman the beard.  He was getting unwieldy and I didn’t want to have to do the upkeep associated with having a full beard.  I didn’t want to look like this guy, so I contemplated mutton chops,  and a handle bar mustache, but after seeing myself with both, decided it was a beard or nothing.  I don’t like the way I look clean-shaven though.  I look super baby-faced.

One thought on “April 21, 2010

  1. Yay!!! Great news! So glad to hear it. Hey that first guy kind of looks like your dad…haha…so smart move to get rid of it now!

Leave a Reply

