May 3, 2010

Sorry for the lack of updates.  The end of last week went well.  I was running a fever every other day last week, but Friday and Saturday I was fever free and felt pretty energetic.  My colonoscopy results are back.  It is all GVHD, no evidence of infection or disease.  The docs increased my steroid level and put me on Enbrel.  Enbrel is an immunosupressant that functions in a similar fashion to Remicade but it’s an injection as opposed to an infusion.  The hope is that the steroids will beat the GVH into submission and the Enbrel will provide some long-term suppression and relief of the GVH.

Fipp came up early on Friday because Mom went home to help Dad with his doctor’s appointment.  Fipp and I went to dinner at Allen and Son BBQ on Friday.  It was really good.  It’s no wonder it’s considered one of the top BBQ places in the state.  We also got out early on Saturday so Fipp and I got some good hangout time.  Liz Lyle, a friend from high school, also came over.  Her husband and she live in the building next door.  It was nice to hang out with her and catch up.  Sunday I was running a low-grade fever most of the day and felt very tired.  I got a unit of blood to boost my hemoglobin level.  I also needed alot of Magnesium, Potassium, and some Phosphorous, so we were in the clinic until 5.  I felt alot better today.  No fevers and more energetic.  I was still in the clinic a long time getting my meds.  Today was the last day for Foscarnet, so my electrolyte levels should go up.  I also stopped by the book store today and picked up two new books, lighter than what I’ve been reading.  I feel that the medicines are making it hard for me to concentrate on denser reading, so I grabbed The Hatchet by Gary Paulsen and Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy.

3 thoughts on “May 3, 2010

  1. Glad to hear you’re getting some social life Carey and having some up periods 🙂
    “The Hatchet by Gary Paulsen and Blood Meridian by Cormac McCarthy” – lol – not surprised you’re reading those, given the amount of attention your own blood has been receiving lately!
    Cheers – Ed

  2. Wow, reading Blood Meridian while on meds… you are a brave, brave man. Get ready for some seriously crazy dreams! 🙂

Leave a Reply

