July 12, 2010

I don’t have anything really new and earth shattering to report. Fipp was in DC all weekend visiting friends, so I spent the weekend in Durham bored out of my skull. I watched The Book of Eli starring Denzel Washington. It’s about a guy who has the last known copy of the Bible and he’s trying to get it to a place where it will be protected. As he journeys he encounters bandits and a truly sadistic Gary Oldman who wants the book so he can consolidate control over his little settlement and then try to expand his power. There were some good plot twists and the female co-star Mila Kunis, showed she is capable of doing action-drama as opposed to just comedy and cartoon voices. There was a good shootout and a good opening scene where Denzel hunts one of those ugly hairless house cats. Seriously, it was a cool scene involving eating a house cat. I wasn’t expecting a whole lot from the movie, but I was entertained. Overall it was fairly predictable, but there were good performances turned in by the cast. I found it to be a good way to kill 2 hours before bed. I also watched Dirty Harry, the first one. I forgot how violent and ahead of its time it was. I love Clint Eastwood and I found my self quoting some of the more memorable lines along with the characters. It’s a classic movie with a gripping plot and one of the sickest bad guys in all of movies. I’ve probably seen Dirty Harry 10 times but it never ceases to grab me and hold my attention for the duration. I also went to lunch with Liz and her husband Mike on Sunday. I met them at Elmo’s. It was fun to see them and catch up. That pretty much sums up my weekend and the remainder of last week. Mom is coming for a couple of days today. She’ll be dropping off the remainder of my stuff in anticipation of my leaving Duke at the end of the month. She’ll also be picking up her stuff from here and taking that with her when she goes back to Virginia. I have to go into the clinic for a blood draw on Wednesday but it’s not a big deal. After that I might head to Columbia for the rest of the week and weekend or I might stay here. I haven’t really decided yet. Either way, there will be another update before the end of the week.

One thought on “July 12, 2010

  1. Carey, boring is good when it comes to your health…as in “ho hum all is well” …its what we are all waiting to hear! love you,
    Auntie Ashley

Leave a Reply

