July 28, 2010

Today’s visit with Dr. Horwitz went very well. All of my counts were normal except for platelets which were unchanged from my last visit. My electrolytes were all very good except for the magnesium, which was unchanged despite my taking an extra dose of the supplement. I was given an IV of magnesium and sent on my way. The docs said that a slightly lower magnesium count won’t put me at risk for any complications, so I was given a return appoint for a month from now. This means I’m effectively discharged. I’ll still be seen by my oncologist in Charlotte, but I’m basically done. I still need to rest and regain my strength and energy. But overall I’ve really turned the corner and gotten a hold of this thing by the short hairs. I’m really happy to be leaving. I hope I don’t have to return under similar circumstances as I did in March.

I didn’t do much else today today except organize my stuff for the move. I then went to the clinic where I got the IVs. That took all afternoon.

5 thoughts on “July 28, 2010

  1. Carey,
    This is the BEST news! We are so happy to hear it! I hope the move goes well. It’s going to be great not to have to travel back and forth for you and Alex. Enjoy it! We are really looking forward to seeing you both in Spetember!
    Love, Laurie

Leave a Reply

