October 19, 2010

My doctor’s appointment last week went well. My counts are slowly moving up. Most of my blood counts and all of my electrolytes are in the normal range or near the normal range. I also stopped by the office to say ho everyone. It was good to catch up on the latest news and hear about some of the new programs. I also have a return to work date of Dec. 6. So I spent some time last week looking at apartments. There is one possibility so far. The other place smelled kind of funny, which normally I wouldn’t mind, but since I need to be more attentive to the possibility of mold and mildew now, I crossed it off the list. I am looking at couple of more places today and hope to have a place by the end of next week.

I’m in Charlotte today for an IVIG transfusion. It’s going well so far, but I hope it doesn’t take all day. Like I mentioned above I want to see a couple of apartments before leaving town. I also want to stop by the office and see a couple of folks I missed when I was there last week. I’m also making homemade pizza tonight so I don’t want to be too tired. I came up last night and crashed at J’s place. We went to LIberty for dinner. I had their burger and house beer. The burger was great and the beer was superb. I was very surprised at how good it was. My experience with house beers hasn’t been all that great. They’re usually too hoppy, but this one was well balanced and flavorful. I would definitely order it again.

My birthday was last Friday. It was a low key affair. Mom and Dad sent fresh live lobsters from Lewiston Maine. They were about 1 1/2 pounds each and very fresh. They came wrapped in the newspaper from the 14th, which was soaked in seawater. They were very lively and aggressive when I picked them up. Fipp and I cooked them and ate them with yeast rolls and corn on the cob. It was a delicious meal and very generous of Mom and Dad to send such a nice meal. After dinner. Fipp got me a new Stetson. I love it and can’t wait to wear it around. Fipp and I went to the movies. We saw Easy A. It was pretty funny and had some great timing and clever writing. On Saturday, we went to Flat Rock NC to do some apple picking. It was very crowded and most of the apples were gone. But despite all that, we managed to find some that I I’ll put into a pie. We also bought some apple butter and fresh preserves. It was a fun day in the mountains and it was very beautiful. Also on Saturday USC managed to lose to Kentucky, the worst ram in the SEC. It was a typical USC move. Beat the number 1 then run up the score in the first half ageist what should be a gimmie game and implode in the second half. O well. I guess Spurrier has to do a bit more work before he makes USC a consistent contender. Texas won on Saturday. They were unranked and beat Nebraska who was number 5. It was a big road win and a big win for the Longhorns in a Big XII conference game.

On Sunday Fipp and I took it easy and went grocery shopping. We saw Stephen Garcia, USC’s QB at the Piggly Wiggly. He didn’t look that big in real life, but then again, he’s a QB. I did chores and housekeeping stuff all day yesterday before leaving for Charlotte. We moth be going to the State Fair later this week. I’m excited to see the best pies and biggest bulls and all the good stuff. And since it’s the South Carolina state fair, it’ll be great people watching.

2 thoughts on “October 19, 2010

  1. Love the gotowork date…jealous of the lobster…have plenty of apples and pie sounds like a really great idea…and isn’t that the red sox signature move?

Leave a Reply

