November 1, 2010

Let’s see, what’s happened since my last post?  Well I posted some new pictures in the Image area.  That’s the first time in a while that section has been updated.  Fipp and I went to Jacksonville Fl.  That was pretty fun.  We visited her friend Melissa and her boyfriend Holt.  Both were at the wedding.  It was nice to get to know Holt better and catch up with Melissa.  We drove down Friday evening.  Saturday, Alex and I went to the Riverside Arts Market and we found a cheese tray we liked.  It’s made out of a recycled Maker’s Mark bottle.   We went out to dinner at a great seafood place called Outback Crab Shack.  It was really good and the food was very fresh.  Fipp had Gator for the first time, and she said she liked it.  I may go to the seafood place up the street and pick up some Gator nuggets for dinner later on.  On Sunday we went to brunch at a local restaurant called Metro Diner.  We then went to an air show at Jacksonville Naval Air Station.  Aside from it being about 900 degrees and a long walk from the car to the show, it was pretty awesome.  Sunday Afternoon, Fipp and I drove back to Columbia.  We stopped in St. Simon’s Island GA to checkout Southern Soul BBQ on the recommendation of my Uncle.  It was closed because they’re renovating the interior, so we went to Beachcomber BBQ instead.  My first impression was it was a pretty neat place.  Their pork is smoked on site in a big smoker out front.  They had two types of sauce, a hot, tomato based sauce and a more sweet dark St. Louis style sauce.  It’s definitely different from the BBQ I get in the Carolinas.  The sauce was good, but nothing super.  I’m still a fan of the vinegar sauce we have in NC.  What I liked most about Beachcomber was the atmosphere.  It was very laid back, simple and beachy.  The staff was friendly and also laid back.  If I opened a BBQ place on the beach it would probably have a similar atmosphere.

I found a place to live and am moving in Nov. 20.  I’ll be living in South Park in the Morrison Apartments.  I have a one bedroom.  It’s a good location and close to my friends.  I can walk to the grocery, movies, and mall.  Speaking of which, I am doing well.  I’m working out a bit more and getting stronger, but still a bit frustrated at how slowly my body is getting back in shape.  I wish it was like before I got sick when I could be back in shape in 6 or 8 weeks.  It’s just going to take more time.

Alex and I went to the Columbia City Ballet over the weekend and saw Dracula.  It’s not a full length ballet and did not cover everything in the original Dracula story, but it was fun.  It was more of a hybrid between traditional ballet and interpretive and modern dance.  It was a good way to spend a Saturday night.  Sunday was spent doing errands.  I’m also playing a fair amount of guitar.  I’ve been trying to learn some songs and have a couple that sound relatively good.  I’m still working though and the stupid F chord is giving me fits. This weekend Fipp and I are going to the USC-Arkansas game.  I’m really looking forward to it.  Right now USC is in the hunt for an SEC championship.  Arkansas is ranked 18 and USC is 19, so it would be a bit of an upset.  But more than that it has huge implications for the SEC championship.  We’re tailgating then going to the game.  I’m pumped.  It feels like a good weekend for the bowtie.

2 thoughts on “November 1, 2010

  1. I just found your blog. As a fellow cancer survivor, my thoughts and prayers are with you.
    Also…Great Blog! You are a credit to the cancer blogging community. I have added you to my blogroll, “Cancer Blogs Lists” with over 1000 other personal cancer blogs at http://www.beingcancer.net, a cancer networking site featuring a cancer book club, guest blogs, cancer resources, reviews and more.
    If you have not visited before or recently, please stop by. If you agree that the site is a worthwhile resource for those affected by cancer, please consider adding Being Cancer Network to your own blogroll.
    Now that you are listed, you can expect to gain a wider audience for your thoughts and experiences. Being Cancer Network is a place to share and communicate.

    Take care, Dennis (beingcancer@att.net)

Leave a Reply

